Equal Opportunities Commission


Press Releases

Press Releases

Appointment of members of Equal Opportunities Commission (Issued by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region)


The Government announced today (May 10) that the Chief Executive has appointed four new members and re-appointed 12 incumbent members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for two years, with effect from May 20, 2013.

The newly appointed members are:
Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding
Dr Trisha Leahy
Dr Joseph Lee Kok-long
Ms Su-Mei Thompson

The re-appointed members are:
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Ms Choi Hing-shi
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung
Mr Amirali Bakirali Nasir
Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Mr Zaman Minhas Qamar
Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man
Mr Paul Tse Wai-chun
Dr John Tse Wing-ling
Ms Garling Wong Ka-ling
Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong

"We are grateful for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting the promotion of equal opportunities. They have also provided valuable input to the various areas of work of the EOC," the Government spokesman said.

"The new membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women, persons with disabilities, ethnic minorities, employment, social services, legal, accounting, academics and education, and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be invaluable to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.

"We would like to take the opportunity to thank Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun, Ms Maggie Chan Man-ki and Mr Lee Luen-fai for their contributions. They have served on the EOC for six years and offered unfailing support to the work of the Commission.

"We look forward to the concerted efforts of all the re-appointed and newly appointed members, under the leadership of the Chairperson, Dr York Chow Yat-Ngok, to take forward the work to promote equal opportunities and eliminate discrimination in the community in accordance with the four existing anti-discrimination ordinances," the spokesman added.
The appointment notice has been gazetted today.


Brief backgrounds of the newly appointed members

Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding is a solicitor and an appointed member of the Islands District Council, and serves on a number of Government advisory and statutory bodies.

Dr Trisha Leahy is the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Sports Institute as well as a member of the Women’s Commission. Dr Leahy is extensively involved in community work through serving on a number of non-government organisations.

Dr Joseph Lee Kok-long is a member of the Legislative Council (LegCo) and is a member of a number of LegCo Panels. He is Associate Professor and Programme Leader of Nursing at the Open University of Hong Kong.

Ms Su-Mei Thompson is the Chief Executive Officer of The Women’s Foundation, a non-profit organisation dedicated to improving the lives of women and girls through research and community programmes