Equal Opportunities Commission


Press Releases

Press Releases

The EOC Welcomes New Members


The Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) welcomed the announcement by the Government today (18 May 2015) on the appointment of 6 new Members to the Commission by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The newly appointed Members are:

Mr Ivan Chan Chi-kin
Prof Susanne Choi Yuk-ping
Ms Elizabeth Law
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Miss Yu Chui-yee

The EOC also welcomed the re-appointment of 10 existing Members by the Chief Executive. They are:

Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Dr Trisha Leahy
Prof Joseph Lee Kok-long
Mr Amirali Bakirali Nasir
Mr Zaman Minhas Qamar
Ms Su-mei Thompson
Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man
Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong

Dr York CHOW, Chairperson of the EOC, welcomes the newly appointed and re-appointed Members. “The new appointees represent a diverse range of backgrounds and expertise, and enjoy extensive experience in public service. I am sure they will bring valuable insights to the EOC and add to the wealth of experience of the existing Board. The new Members, along with the re-appointed Members who have served the Commission with dedication and commitment, will guide the Commission ahead as we strive to build a pluralistic and inclusive society free of discrimination, and respond to the needs of the society.”

“We would also like to express our deep gratitude to the 6 outgoing Members, namely Ms Choi Hing-shi, Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung, Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui, Mr Paul Tse Wai-chun, Dr John Tse Wing-ling and Ms Garling Wong Ka-ling, for their important contributions, their immense efforts and valuable advice in the past years. I hope we can continue to count on their support to the work of the EOC and the cause of advancing equal opportunities for all,” said Dr Chow.

For media enquiries, please contact Mr. Sam HO at 2106-2187.

Equal Opportunities Commission
18 May 2015