Equal Opportunities Commission


E-news Issue 283

Group photo

EOC hosts award ceremony for winners of “Equality and Respect: Stop Sexual Harassment” Sticker Design Competition 2022

Last Friday (10 June 2022), the EOC held an award ceremony for the winners of the “Equality and Respect: Stop Sexual Harassment” Sticker Design Competition 2022. The event was graced with the presence of the Under Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Clement WOO Kin-man, MH, JP, who presented prizes to the awardees in the Open, Junior Secondary School and Senior Secondary School categories as the Guest of Honour.

Tapping into the growing popularity of stickers in messaging apps, the competition was launched in January this year to engage the younger generation and the general public in raising awareness against sexual harassment. 

Welcoming the guests and awardees at the ceremony, EOC Chairperson Mr Ricky CHU Man-kin said, “I would like to take this opportunity to applaud the winners for their creative work, and express my gratitude to all the participants and participating schools for their enthusiastic support. Although the competition coincided with the fifth wave of COVID-19, we are glad to have received about 300 submissions. We are also thankful to our judges, including EOC Members, for devoting their time to adjudicating the entries.”

As part of the event, champions from the Open and Senior Secondary School categories were invited to talk about the inspiration behind their works, while one of the “Most Supportive School” awardees shared experience in educating students about sexual harassment.

The ceremony was also attended by members of the assessment panel of the competition, including Dr Rizwan ULLAH, Convenor of the EOC’s Policy, Research and Training Committee; Mr Mohan DATWANI, Convenor of the EOC’s Legal and Complaints Committee; Ms Rabi YIM Chor-pik, Deputy Convenor of the EOC’s Community Participation and Publicity Committee; Mr CHONG Yiu-kwong, the then Deputy Convenor of the EOC’s Working Group on Anti-Sexual Harassment Campaign; and Ms Julia SUN Wai-han, Member of the EOC’s Working Group on Anti-Sexual Harassment Campaign.

The winning entries are available for download on the EOC’s COMPASS website.