Equal Opportunities Commission

Search

FAQ - The Disability Discrimination Ordinance and I

Disability Discrimination Ordinance

It is a law that has been enacted to protect people with a disability against discrimination, harassment and vilification on the ground of their disability.

Under the DDO, a disability means total or partial loss of a person’s bodily or mental functions, total or partial loss of a part of the body, the presence of organisms causing disease or illness (such as HIV), the malfunction, malformation or disfigurement of a part of the person’s body, or a disorder, illness or disease that affects a persons perception of reality, emotions or judgement or that results in disturbed behaviour, and learning difficulties. A disability includes not only a disability which presently exists, but also a disability which previously existed but no longer exists, which may exist in the future or which is imputed to a person.

The legislation protects any person against discrimination on the ground of disability. If you are a person with a disability, you are certainly protected under the DDO. However, even though you may not be a person with a disability, you are also protected under the law if:

  • An associate of yours is a person with a disability, and you are discriminated against because of your association with him/her. An associate includes a spouse, another person living with a person with a disability, relative, carer and a business, sporting or recreational partner;
  • You are imputed to have a disability and you are discriminated against because of this; or
  • It is believed you may have a disability in the future, and you are discriminated against because of this.

Unlawful Acts under the DDO

Discrimination can be direct or indirect.

Direct discrimination occurs when, on the ground of disability, a person with a disability is treated less favourably than another person without a disability in similar circumstances.

Indirect discrimination occurs when a condition or requirement is applied to everyone, but in practice affects people with a disability more adversely, is to their detriment, and such condition or requirement cannot be justified.

Harassment is any unwelcome conduct on account of a person’s disability where it can be reasonably anticipated that the person would be offended, humiliated or intimidated. For example, insulting remarks or offensive jokes about a person’s disability. Harassment against a person with a disability is unlawful under the DDO.

Vilification is an activity in public which incites hatred towards, serious contempt for, or severe ridicule of people with a disability. For example, if a person speaks openly in public that people with a disability are useless and a burden to society, this may amount to vilification. Vilification against a person with a disability is unlawful under the DDO.

The DDO applies to all employers in Hong Kong, unless the employee does his/her work wholly or mainly outside Hong Kong.

The law gives you protection against discrimination, harassment or vilification in the areas of:

  • employment (including partnerships, trade union memberships, vocational training, etc.)
  • education
  • access to, disposal and management of premises (Premises are places that can be accessed by the members of public.)
  • provision of goods, services and facilities
  • practising as barristers (Any offer of a pupillage and training provided to barristers.)
  • clubs and sporting activities 

This protection also extends to your associates.

In addition, the DDO renders disability harassment between workplace participants at a common workplace unlawful, even where there is no employment or employment-like relationship between them. A “workplace participant” covers persons working in the same workplace, including an employer, an employee, a contract worker, a principal, a commission agent, a partner, an intern and a volunteer.

It is unlawful for an employer to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee on the ground of disability. However, under certain circumstances, an employer may specify a job applicant or an employee should not be a person with a certain type of disability:

  1. because such person would be unable to carry out the inherent requirements of the particular employment. For example, an employer may specify that persons who are wheelchair bound need not apply for jobs as gym instructors, as an inherent requirement of the job of gym instructors is to be physically fit and agile, in order to help people to use the gym equipment and to show them how to work out.
  2. because being a person without a disability is a genuine occupational qualification for a job. For example, the essential nature of a job calls for a person without a disability for reasons of physiology or, in dramatic performances, for reasons of authenticity. In such case, a person with serious visual impairment may be denied to play a role demanding good visual ability.

The inherent requirements of a job are those that are necessary for the goals of the job to be achieved. In the context of people with disabilities, care must be taken not to confuse the goals the job is meant to achieve with the way in which the job is carried out. The latter is not necessarily an inherent requirement. In determining whether or not a person with a disability can carry out the inherent requirements of the job, an employer is required to take into account:

(a) the person’s past training, qualifications and experience relevant to the particular employment;
(b) in the case of a serving employee, his/her work performance; and
(c) other relevant factors.

For example, a delivery worker who needs to lift objects of at least 50 kg, lifting 50 kg is an inherent requirement of this job. Physically abled or without an illness may not necessarily be an inherent requirement of this job.

(Details please refer to the Good Management Practice Series published by the EOC)

It is unlawful for a service provider to refuse the provision of goods, services or facilities, or for an educational establishment to deny admission to or expel a student on the ground of disability. However, if a student, because of his/her disability, cannot meet the reasonable requirement of an educational establishment set to its students, the educational establishment may refuse to admit the student.

It is unlawful for any employer to discriminate in respect of recruitment exercises and this applies to jobs offered by the Government. It is also unlawful for the Government to discriminate against a person with a disability in the performance of its functions or the exercise of its powers, except in respect of any act done under any immigration legislation on entry into and departure from Hong Kong, or an act done to comply with a requirement of an existing statutory provision.

It is not unlawful to discriminate against an employee who has an infectious disease, if it is reasonably necessary for the protection of public health. “Infectious diseases” under the DDO means the diseases set out in the Prevention and Control of Disease Ordinance (Cap 599) and any communicable disease specified by the Director of Health in the Government Gazette. For the purpose of this exception under the DDO, neither HIV infection nor AIDS are to be treated as infectious diseases.

The DDO was enacted to ensure that there are equal opportunities between people with and without a disability. It is not unlawful to provide to people with a disability, or a certain type of disability, goods or access to services, facilities or opportunities to meet their special needs in relation to employment, education, clubs or sport, the provision of premises, goods, services or facilities or in helping them develop the ability to live independently.

Lodging a Complaint with the EOC

You can take one or more of the following courses of action:

  1. if the complaint is job-related, you can lodge a complaint with your organisation’s management or seek other forms of appropriate help from your organisation;
  2. if the complaint is related to the provision of services or facilities, you can lodge a complaint with the goods, services or facilities provider or request for improvement;
  3. lodge a complaint with the EOC; and/or
  4. take your case to court.


Remember to make a record of what has happened as soon after the incident as possible while your memory is still fresh. This information will help you recall details at a later date when you want to take action. If the discrimination involves verbal abuse, try to record word for word what was said. This is particularly important if you feel you are being harassed or vilified in public.

If you would like to lodge a complaint with the EOC, you should do it within 12 months after the event has taken place. If you decide to take legal proceedings to the District Court, you should do it within 2 years after the event has taken place.

Yes. According to the law, a complaint can be lodged by an aggrieved person or a representative complainant. For representative complaint, the representative must show that he/she has been authorised by the aggrieved person with a disability to lodge the complaint. If you have not been authorised, you can still report the case to the EOC. After receiving the complaint, the EOC will follow up on the issues accordingly.

Yes. This treatment is considered to be victimisation, which is also a form of unlawful discrimination under the DDO. If such a treatment happens, you are protected under the law and should immediately inform the people who are dealing with your complaint, i.e. your organisation’s complaints officer, staff representative, solicitor, or the EOC, depending on the course of action you have chosen.

You need to lodge a complaint in writing and provide the following information:

  • the details and the date of the matter;
  • your personal information (name, contact, disability etc.);
  • name of the respondent(s) (or name of the company) and contact;
  • the reasons or evidence supported your claim of discrimination, harassment or
  • vilification on the ground of disability;
  • the detriment or emotional disturbance suffered from the discriminatory acts; and
  • information of witnesses

If you have difficulties in preparing a complaint in writing, please contact the EOC Office. Our staff will understand the reasons of your difficulties and your need so as to consider providing assistance accordingly.

Complainant can be an individual or a group. You may ask someone to represent you to lodge a complaint but the representative complainant should get your authorisation in prior.

Investigation and Conciliation

Upon receiving a complaint in writing, the EOC will ascertain whether there had been an unlawful act that fell within the remit of the anti-discrimination ordinances, and whether the complaint was lodged by an aggrieved person or her/his authorised representative.

Once a case has been classified as a complaint, the EOC will assign a case officer to handle it. The case officer will notify the respondent of the complaint and request a response. The case officer may also write to the complainant, seeking further information or clarification of certain points, and may also ask about witnesses or documentary proof that might support the allegation(s). At all stages of complaint-handling, the EOC will adhere to the principles of impartiality and confidentiality, as well as its established procedures, and adopt a “victim-centric” approach, which seeks to recognise and pay special attention to the needs of victims, while managing their expectations.

The EOC will decide not to conduct or discontinue an investigation into a complaint if:

  • the EOC is satisfied that the act complained of is not unlawful by virtue of a provision of the DDO;
  • the EOC is of the opinion that the person aggrieved does not desire that the investigation be continued;
  • a period of more than 12 months has elapsed beginning when the act was done;
  • the EOC determines that the complaint should not be a representative complaint; or
  • the EOC is of the opinion that the complaint is frivolous, vexatious, misconceived or lacking in substance.

The EOC is required by law to investigate into a complaint and effect a settlement through conciliation. The conciliator of the EOC assists both parties to examine the issues that led to the complaint, identify points of agreement and negotiate a settlement to the dispute. Conciliation is entirely voluntary. The conciliator does not act for either party of the complaint, but would maintain independent and impartial, while adhering to the principle of confidentiality during the conciliation process. The conciliator would discuss the issues in dispute by asking questions designed to help all parties exchange information, develop and examine options for resolution, draft the settlement agreement according to the wishes of the parties and record the outcome.

Settlements vary and may include a letter of apology, financial compensation, enactment of equal opportunities policies, etc. Settlement agreements are equivalent to contracts and are legally binding. Read the EOC brochure on conciliation for additional information.

If the complaint cannot be resolved through conciliation, you may apply to the EOC for legal assistance to go to court. The Legal and Complaints Committee of the EOC will consider and decide on the applications, taking into account the circumstances of each case and a set of established principles. Assistance may include the giving of legal advice, representation by the EOC’s lawyers, legal representation by outside lawyers or any other form of assistance the EOC considers appropriate.

Yes, anyone can go to court directly and initiate civil proceedings under the law without going through the EOC.

Top

平等機會委員會

搜尋

《殘疾歧視條例》與我

《殘疾歧視條例》與我

本單張由平等機會委員會(「平機會」)製作,介紹殘疾人士在《殘疾歧視條例》下可享有的一般權利。平機會也製作了有關《殘疾歧視條例》的一系列《良好管理常規系列》資料小冊和僱傭實務守則等。

若要索取更多資料,請聯絡:

平等機會委員會
香港黃竹坑香葉道41號16樓
電話:2511 8211

《殘疾歧視條例》是為保障殘疾人士避免因其殘疾而遭受歧視、騷擾及中傷而制定的法例。

根據《殘疾歧視條例》,殘疾是指全部或局部喪失身體或心智機能;全部或局部失去身體任何部分;體內存在可引致疾病的有機體(如愛滋病病毒);也指身體部分機能失常、畸形或毀損,或影響對現實情況的理解、情緒或判斷、或引致行為紊亂的失調或疾病、學習困難。殘疾也不單指現存的殘疾,更包括曾經存在的、將來可能存在的或被認為存在的殘疾。

法例保障任何人不會因為殘疾而遭受歧視。若你是殘疾人士,你當然受到《殘疾歧視條例》保障,而在下列的情況,即使你沒有殘疾也會受到法例保障:

  • 與你有聯繫的人是殘疾人士,而你因此遭受歧視。有聯繫人士包括你的配偶、共同生活的另一人、親屬、照料者及在業務、體育或消閒上有關係的另一人;
  • 你被視為有殘疾而遭受歧視;
  • 雖然你現在沒有殘疾,卻被認為將來可能有殘疾而遭受歧視。

《殘疾歧視條例》所指的違法行為

歧視可以是直接的,也可以是間接的。

直接歧視是指在類似的情況下,殘疾人士因其殘疾而遭受較非殘疾的人士為差的待遇。

間接歧視是指向所有人一律施以劃一的條件或要求,但實際上並無充分理由需要施加該等條件或要求,而這樣做會對殘疾人士造成不利。

若某人因他人的殘疾而向他/她作出不受歡迎的行為,而一般人也會覺得該行為有冒犯、侮辱或驚嚇成分,該不受歡迎的行為便是騷擾,例如針對某人的殘疾出言侮辱或說冒犯笑話。根據《殘疾歧視條例》,騷擾殘疾人士屬違法行為。

若某人透過公開活動煽動對殘疾人士的仇恨、嚴重的鄙視或強烈的嘲諷,這種行為便稱為中傷。例如,有人公開地說,有某種殘疾的人都沒用,是社會的負累,這種行為便可構成中傷。根據《殘疾歧視條例》,中傷殘疾人士屬違法行為。

除非僱員完全或主要在香港以外地方工作,否則《殘疾歧視條例》適用於全港僱主。

法例保障你在下列範疇免受歧視、騷擾或中傷:

  • 僱傭(包括合夥關係、職工會會籍、職業訓練等)
  • 教育
  • 進入、處置及管理處所(處所是指任何公眾人士獲容許進入或使用的地方)
  • 貨品、服務及設施的提供
  • 大律師的執業(指提供大律師見習職位和訓練等)
  • 會社及體育活動 

與你有聯繫的人士也在上述範圍內受到保障。

此外,法例也保障共同工作場所內的場所使用者,免受同屬場所使用者的殘疾騷擾,即使兩者沒有僱傭關係或類似僱傭關係。「場所使用者」指在同一工作場所工作的人,包括僱主、僱員、合約工作者、主事人、佣金經紀人、合夥人、實習學員及義工。

一般情況下,僱主不可以殘疾為理由而歧視求職者及僱員,但是對個別工作崗位,僱主可以在下列情況下訂明申請人或僱員不能有某類殘疾:

  1. 有某類殘疾令人不能執行該項工作的固有要求,例如僱主註明坐輪椅使用者不能應徵做體操指導員,因為體操指導員的固有要求是身體強健和身手敏捷,以便教導和示範如何使用體操器械。
  2. 沒有某類殘疾是該項工作的真正職業資格,例如基於生理方面的考慮或在戲劇表演方面為求真實感。因此,視力嚴重受損的演員可能被拒擔演視力正常的角色。

一份工作的固有要求是指必需達到的工作目標。對於殘疾人士來說,須小心不要把工作目標與執行工作的方法混淆,後者未必是固有要求。在決定殘疾人士能否執行工作的固有要求時,僱主需考慮以下幾點:

(a)    該人以往與某項工作有關的訓練、資格和經驗;
(b)    若該人是現職僱員,其工作表現;以及
(c)    其他有關因素。

例如,就一份需要能提起最少50公斤物品的送貨工作而言,能提起50公斤就是工作的固有要求,而肢體健全或沒有疾病,並不一定是該工作的固有要求。

(詳情請見平等機會委員會出版的《良好管理常規系列》)

一般情況下,服務提供者不可以殘疾為理由拒絕提供服務或設施,而教育機構也不能以殘疾為理由拒絕接受入學申請或勒令學生退學。不過,若一名學生因有某類殘疾而不能做到某教育機構對其學生的合理要求,則該教育機構可不接受該學生入學或留讀。

任何僱主在招聘時歧視殘疾人士即屬違法,條例也適用於政府招聘的工作。除了與香港的出入境法例有關,或為遵守現有法例條文而作出的行為,政府在僱用、執行職能或行使權力時,同樣不能歧視殘疾人士。

若僱主為了保障公眾健康而作出合理地需要的措施,則即使該措施歧視有傳染病的僱員也不屬違法。《殘疾歧視條例》中訂明傳染病是指《預防及控制疾病條例》(第599章)所指明的任何疾病,以及由衞生署署長在憲報公告所指明的可傳播疾病。《殘疾歧視條例》中更特別聲明對人類免疫力病毒測試呈陽性反應或患上愛滋病,就該條例而言並不算患上傳染病。

訂立《殘疾歧視條例》的目的是確保殘疾人士與其他人一樣享有平等機會,故此,若某些服務機構只為某類殘疾人士提供貨品、服務、設施、機會、直接或間接的資助、活動安排或利益,以迎合他們在就業、教育、會社、體育、處所、貨品、服務或設施等方面的需要,或協助他們建立獨立生活能力的話,均不算違法。

向平機會提出投訴

你可以採取以下一項或多項行動:

  1. 若投訴與你的工作有關,可向你所屬的機構的管理層提出投訴或尋求其他形式的協助;
  2. 若投訴與提供服務或設施等方面有關,可向有關的提供者提出投訴或要求改善;
  3. 向平機會投訴;以及/或
  4. 將個案交由法庭處理。

事件發生後,你應在記憶猶新時盡快把經過記錄下來。日後提出投訴或採取法律行動時,這些資料會幫助你記起事件的細節。若涉及言語上的歧視,嘗試記錄對方所說的每一個字,這樣對於你感到當眾被騷擾或中傷的情況,尤其重要。

若你選擇向平機會投訴,最好在事件發生後12個月內提出;若你決定向區域法院提出訴訟,應盡量在事件發生後的24個月內提出。

可以。根據法例,投訴可以由受屈人或其代表投訴人提出。惟代表投訴人必須證明有殘疾的受屈人已授權他/她提出代表投訴。若你未獲授權為代表投訴人,也可將事件告知平機會,平機會在接到資料後,將根據個別事件的情況跟進。

根據《殘疾歧視條例》,你所遭受的歧視會構成「使人受害」的歧視,是違法行為。你將受法律保障,且應馬上通知可以處理有關投訴的人員,例如你所屬機構內負責處理投訴的職員、職工代表、律師或平機會,情況視乎你打算採取哪種行動而定。

你需要向平機會提出書面投訴,並提供以下資料:

  • 事發經過及發生的日期和時間;
  • 你的個人資料,包括姓名、聯絡辦法、殘疾的資料等;
  • 答辯人的姓名或公司名稱及聯絡辦法;
  • 令你相信你是因殘疾而遭受歧視、騷擾或中傷的理由或證據;
  • 你因該歧視作為而蒙受的損害或困擾;以及
  • 證人的資料。

若你在撰寫投訴書方面有困難,可聯絡平機會辦事處。平機會職員會了解你未能自行書寫的原因和需要,因應實際情況考慮提供書寫協助。投訴人可以是個人或團體。此外,你也可以由另一人代表你提出投訴,但代表投訴人必須得到你書面授權。

調查及調停

平機會收到書面投訴後,會先確立所指稱的違法行為是否屬於反歧視條例的範圍,以及投訴是否由受屈人或其授權的代表提出。

平機會確立個案為投訴後會委派個案主任跟進。個案主任會把有關投訴通知答辯人及要求回覆,也可能去信投訴人要求提供更多資料或澄清某些內容,或要求提出證人或佐證文件以支持其指控。在整個調查過程中,平機會會按照「以受害人為本」的方針,緊守公正持平地對待雙方的原則,同時留心和體恤投訴處理程序各個階段中受害人的需要,並管理受害人的期望。

平機會可以在下列情況下,決定不對投訴進行調查或終止對投訴繼續調查:

  • 所投訴的作為並非《殘疾歧視條例》下的違法行為;
  • 受屈人不願調查繼續進行;
  • 違法行為發生已超過12個月;
  • 該投訴不應以代表申訴人的方式提出;或
  • 投訴屬瑣碎無聊、無理取鬧、基於錯誤理解或缺乏實質。

法例規定平機會要就投訴作出調查,並致力透過調停達致和解。平機會的調停員會協助雙方了解導致投訴的問題所在,認清協議要點和協商解決投訴。調停是出於自願的,調停員不會偏袒任何一方,會公平及公正地對待每個人,尊重所有參與各方,恪守保密原則。調停員在調停的過程中,會提出與爭端有關的問題,引導討論,以協助各方交換相關資料、擬議及研究解決方案、按各有關人士的意願草擬和解協議書,並記錄結果。

和解方式各有不同,包括書面道歉、金錢賠償、制定平等機會政策等。和解協議如合約一樣,具有法律約束力。若需更多資料,請參閱平機會有關調停的小冊子。

若投訴無法透過調停解決,你可向平機會申請法律協助,把個案交予法庭處理。平機會屬下的法律及投訴專責小組會視乎個案的情況和按照既定原則,考慮和審批每宗申請。法律協助可以是給予法律意見、或由平機會的律師擔任你的法律代表,或延聘外間律師作法律代表,或其他任何平機會認為合適的協助方式。

可以,任何人都可以不經平機會,直接到法院提出民事訴訟程序。

頁頂