Equal Opportunities Commission

Search

EOC Policies

Privacy and Data Protection Policy and Practices

Introduction

The protection of privacy in relation to personal data is the concern of every person in the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) Office. We respect personal data and are committed to fully complying with the data protection principles and all relevant provisions of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486) (PDPO) which apply to any person (data user) that controls the collection, holding, processing or use of personal data and any person (data subject) who is the subject of such data.

 

Definition of Personal Data

Personal data means any data relating to a living individual from which it is practicable for the identity of the individual to be directly or indirectly ascertained and in a form in which access to or processing of the data is practicable. Personal data covers both factual information and expressions of opinions contained in any document, including documents in writing and other forms of documents, such as discs, tapes, films and other such devices.

 

Principles

The following data protection principles will be observed.

  • Principle 1 - Purpose and manner of collection
    Personal data will be collected for a lawful purpose directly related to a function or activity of the EOC Office. Only data which is necessary for or directly related to that purpose will be collected and the EOC Office will ensure that the data is adequate but not excessive. The collection will be lawful and by fair means, and all practical steps will be taken to ensure that the data subject is informed of the purpose of its collection, whether the data subject is obliged to supply the data, the consequences of not supplying the data, the class of persons to whom the data may be transferred, the rights of the data subject to request access to and /or correction of the data and the name and address of the person to whom such request may be made.
  • Principle 2 - Accuracy and duration of retention
    All practical steps will be taken to ensure that personal data is accurate and up-to-date. Personal data shall not be kept longer than is necessary to fulfil the purpose (including any directly related purpose) for which the data is to be used.
  • Principle 3 - Use of personal data
    Data subjects are assured that without their prescribed consent, their personal data will not be used for any purpose other than the purpose designated at the time of collection or a directly related purpose.
  • Principle 4 - Security of personal data
    All practical steps will be taken to ensure that personal data are protected against unauthorised or accidental access, processing, erasure or other use.
  • Principle 5 - Information to be generally available
    All practical steps will be taken to ensure that a person can ascertain the EOC Office’s policies and practices in relation to personal data, the kind of personal data held by it and the main purposes for which such data are held or are to be used.
  • Principle 6 - Access to personal data
    A data subject is entitled to ascertain whether the EOC Office holds his/her personal data and to request access to and/or correction of his/her personal data.

 

Kinds of Personal Data Held

There are three broad categories of personal data held in the EOC Office. They are personal data contained in:

  1. Records of public enquiries & complaints related to anti-discrimination legislation, which include records containing information supplied by data subjects and data users and collected in connection with the handling of enquiries, complaints, investigations, conciliation, legal proceedings and other related activities pursuant to the EOC’s statutory obligations under the relevant provisions of the Sex Discrimination Ordinance, Cap.480 (“SDO”), the Disability Discrimination Ordinance, Cap. 487 (“DDO”), the Family Status Discrimination Ordinance, Cap 527 (“FSDO”) and the Race Discrimination Ordinance (“RDO”).
  2. Personnel records, which include personal details, job particulars, details of salary, payments, benefits, performance appraisals, disciplinary matters, etc. of every person employed with the EOC Office and of applicants to the posts of the EOC Office.
  3. Other records, which include administration and operational files, papers and minutes of meetings, quotations and prices of purchased stores and equipment, proposals and contracts for services and consultancy services, etc., of which the personal identity of individuals can be ascertained.

The records described in 1 above are maintained by either the Complaint Services Division or the Legal Service Division. The records described in 2 and 3 above are maintained by the Corporate Planning and Services Division.

 

Main Purposes of keeping Personal Data

Personal data held in:

  • Records of public enquiries & complaints related to anti-discrimination legislation are kept for the purposes of carrying out the statutory duties, including responding to and taking follow-up action on enquiries and complaints, conducting investigations and undertaking conciliation between the parties concerned, and commencing legal proceedings and taking any enforcement action;
  • Personnel records of employees are kept for human resource management purposes, relating to such matters as recruitment, appointment, benefits administration, employees’ compensation, termination, performance appraisal, discipline and the like; and
  • Other records are kept for various purposes which vary according to the nature of the record, such as administration of the EOC Office functions and activities, seeking advice on policy or operational matters, procurement of stores and equipment, acquisition of services, etc., and such records contain personal identifiers (e.g. minutes of meetings attributing views of individual members).

 

Access to Personal Data and Correction

The EOC Office recognises an individual’s right of access to and correction of personal data in accordance with the PDPO. To ensure compliance with the PDPO, data access and correction requests to the EOC Office are handled by:

  • Director (Complaint Services) and the Chief Legal Counsel for personal data held in records of enquiries and complaints in respect of anti-discrimination legislation in their respective areas of work, and
  • Director (Corporate Planning and Services) for personal data held in all other records.

Any request for access to personal data and correction should be made in writing to the division head concerned. All requests will be promptly attended to and the response will be made no later than 40 days after its receipt. For correction requests, a written confirmation together with a copy of the corrected personal data will be provided to the requestors after correction has been made. Where a request is refused, the requestor will be advised in writing of the refusal and the reason for refusal within 40 days after its receipt. Particulars of the refusal to supply data, refusal to correct data and the reasons for so doing will be recorded in the respective data protection log books. The log books will be kept for at least 4 years and available for inspection by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data. Any appeal on refusals of data access and/or correction requests should be directed to the Executive Director (Operations) / Chairperson who will advise on the appropriate action to be taken.

 

Exemptions to Access

The PDPO provides the following exemptions from the obligations to provide access to personal data:

  • a broad exemption for personal data held for domestic or recreational purposes
  • exemptions from certain employment related personal data, such as:
    • personal data relating to staff planning
    • personal data generated by certain evaluative processes, including a recruitment or promotion exercise, prior to a decision being taken and where an appeal can be made against such decision
    • personal data in a personal reference given outside the ordinary course of occupation; where the personal reference is given on or after 20 December 1996, the exemption is only up to the time the position is filled
    • personal data of current employees provided prior to 20 December 1996 on the basis that the data subject would not have access (such exemption from right of subject access expires on 3 August 2002)
  • exemptions from subject access and use of personal data where disclosure is likely to cause prejudice to certain public or social interests, such as security, defence and international relations; prevention or detection of crime; assessment or collection of any tax or duty; news activities; legal professional privilege; and health of a data subject.

 

Practices

The following is maintained to ensure compliance with the PDPO:

  • Two log books, as provided for in section 27 of the PDPO, be kept under lock in the Personnel Section of the EOC Office as follows:
    • one in respect of refusals of data access and/or data correction requests in relation to personal data held in records of public enquiries and complaints related to anti-discrimination legislation
    • one in respect of refusals of data access and/or data correction requests in relation to personal data held in all other records
  • Internal operating procedures dealing with the handling of enquiries and complaints from the public related to anti-discrimination legislation, which include procedures for compliance with the PDPO and Internal guidelines on dealing with personal data in relation to all other areas.
  • Data Access Request Form for ascertaining and access to personal data held by the EOC Office. (Download form)

 

Fees

The EOC Office will charge for each data access request a processing fee for complying with the request (see section 28(2) of the PDPO) as follows:

(i) HK$2.5 per page for paper record1; or

(ii) HK$55 for the simple production of a CD/CD-ROM/DVD/audio/video record2; or

(iii) HK$7 per minute of an audio record which may require editing work like redacting any personal data relating to a third party3; or

(iv) A variable fee based on lowest quotation for the production of a CD/CD-ROM/DVD/audio/video record which requires complicated editing work4; or

(v) A fee which varies according to the actual amount of audio recordings to be transcribed in the form of a transcript. The variable fee will be based on either

(a) the direct and necessary costs of transcription to be done by appropriate EOC staff; or

(b) the lowest quotation charged by a service provider hired by the EOC, whichever cost is lower5.

The EOC may refuse to comply with a data access request unless and until any fee imposed by the EOC for complying with the request has been paid (See section 28(5) of the PDPO).

Please click to view payment methods

The EOC may refuse to comply with Data Access Request(s) in the circumstances specified in section 20 of the PDPO.

 


1For paper records, the processing work incurred by the EOC includes but is not limited to locating, vetting, sorting and redacting information and photocopying of documents.

2If the data access request requires processing of paper records and conversion of these records into files/records to be stored in a digital format such as CD-ROM, the processing fee will include both the fee for processing paper records and the processing fee of production of a digital format.

3If the audio record is requested to be stored in a digital format, the fee for the production of the specified digital format, i.e. item (ii) above, will also be charged.

4Where more complicated editing work like redacting the personal data not belonging to the data subject is required, and the work needs to be outsourced to a service provider, the processing fee will be based on the lowest quotation obtained by the EOC for work to be performed by a service provider hired by the EOC.

5If the transcription is requested to be stored in a digital format, the fee for the production of the specified digital format, i.e. item(ii) above, will also be charged.


Revised in November 2020

Top

平等機會委員會

搜尋

機構政策

私隱及資料保障政策及實務

引言

平等機會委員會(「平機會」)辦事處十分重視保障個人資料私隱。我們尊重個人資料,並會全力遵守保障資料原則,以及《個人資料(私隱)條例》(第486章)(「《條例》」)一切適用於監管收集、持有、處理或使用個人資料的人士(資料使用者)和擁有這些資料的人士(資料當事人)的相關條文。

 

個人資料的定義

個人資料是指與一名在世的個人有關的任何資料,透過這些資料可直接或間接地確定有關個人的身分,而這些資料的存在形式令查閱及處理工作切實可行。個人資料包括載於任何書面文件及其他形式的文件(如紀錄光碟、紀錄磁帶、膠卷及其他此類器件)的實質資料及意見。

 

原則

平機會辦事處會遵守以下的保障資料原則:

  • 第一原則:收集個人資料的目的與方式
    個人資料是為了直接與平機會辦事處的職能或活動有關的合法目的而收集,且只會收集就該目的所必需的或直接與該目的有關的資料,平機會辦事處確保其所收集的資料屬足夠但不超乎適度。平機會將以合法及公平的方式收集個人資料,並會採取所有切實可行的步驟,確保資料當事人得悉所收集的資料的用途、資料當事人是否有責任提供這些資料、不提供有關資料所需承擔的後果、這些資料可能移轉予甚麼類別人士、資料當事人要求查閱這些資料及/或要求更新這些資料的權利,以及接受資料當事人提出查閱和改正要求的人士的姓名及地址。
  • 第二原則:個人資料的準確性及保留期間
    平機會辦事處會採取所有切實可行的步驟,確保有關的個人資料是準確及最新的。保存個人資料的時間,不會超過達到使用資料的目的(包括任何直接有關的目的)所需的時間。
  • 第三原則:個人資料的使用
    平機會辦事處向資料當事人保證,未得資料當事人的訂明同意,其個人資料不會用於在收集有關資料時所指定的目的或直接有關的目的以外的用途。
  • 第四原則:個人資料的保安
    平機會辦事處會採取所有切實可行的步驟,保障個人資料不會未經授權的或意外地被查閱、處理、刪除或使用。
  • 第五原則:資訊須在一般情況下可供取用
    平機會辦事處會採取所有切實可行的步驟,以確保任何人能確定平機會辦事處在保障個人資料方面的政策及實務、所持有的個人資料的種類,以及持有或使用這些個人資料的目的。
  • 第六原則:查閱個人資料
    資料當事人有權確定平機會辦事處是否持有其個人資料,並要求查閱及/或改正其個人資料。

 

持有的個人資料種類

平機會辦事處持有的個人資料分為三大類,記錄載列如下:

  1. 有關就反歧視法例的公眾查詢及投訴記錄:包括由資料當事人及資料使用者所提供的資料,以執行根據《性別歧視條例》(第480章)、《殘疾歧視條例》(第487章)、《家庭崗位歧視條例》(第527章)及《種族歧視條例》(第602章)的有關條文賦予平機會的法定職責,例如處理查詢、投訴、調查、調停、法律訴訟,以及其他有關活動中所收集到的資料。
  2. 人事記錄:包括平機會辦事處每名僱員和曾應徵平機會辦事處職位的求職者的個人資料、工作詳情、薪俸資料、付款記錄、福利、工作表現評估,以及紀律處分等事項。
  3. 其他記錄:包括行政及運作方面的檔案、文件及會議記錄、報價單及已購置的物品和設備的價格資料、服務及顧問服務的建議書及合約等,而從上述文件中可以確定有關人士的個人身分。

上文第1段的記錄由平機會投訴事務科或法律服務科保存,第2和3段的記錄則由平機會機構規劃及服務科保存。

 

保存個人資料的主要目的

保存載於下列記錄的個人資料的目的如下:

  • 有關就反歧視法例的公眾查詢及投訴記錄:為執行平機會的法定職務,包括回應和跟進市民的查詢和投訴、對有關人士進行調查和調停,以及展開法律訴訟和採取行動等目的;
  • 人事記錄:為用於人力資源管理,例如與招聘、委任、福利管理、僱員賠償、解僱、工作表現評估、紀律處分相關事宜;以及
  • 其他記錄:保存這些記錄的目的各有不同,須視乎記錄的性質而定,例如關於平機會辦事處的行政工作及活動,就政策或運作事宜徵詢的意見、採購物品及設備、獲取服務等,而這些記錄載有可識別有關人士個人身分的資料(例如載有個別委員意見的會議記錄)。

 

查閱及改正個人資料

平機會辦事處尊重公眾人士根據《條例》查閱及改正其個人資料的權利。為確保遵照《條例》的規定,向平機會辦事處提出查閱及改正資料的要求由以下人員處理:

  • 投訴事務總監及總法律主任負責處理其工作範圍內有關市民就反歧視法例作出查詢和投訴的記錄內的個人資料;以及
  • 機構規劃及服務總監負責處理所有其他記錄內的個人資料。

任何人要求查閱及改正個人資料,必須以書面向負責的科別主管提出。平機會會盡快處理所提出要求,並在接獲要求後的40日內作出回覆。如要改正資料,平機會在作出改正後,會以書面方式,連同已改正的個人資料複本,提供予提出要求者確認作實。平機會如拒絕依從有關人士的要求,亦會在接獲要求後的40日內,以書面通知提出要求者,其不能依從有關要求及其原因。有關平機會拒絕依從要求提供資料、改正資料和其中的原因等細節,都會記錄在保障資料紀錄簿內。紀錄簿會保存至少四年,並會讓個人資料私隱專員查閱。任何人士如就平機會拒絕依從查閱及/或改正資料而要求上訴,須向平機會行政總監(營運)/主席提出,行政總監(營運)/主席會就應採取的適當行動提出意見。

 

豁免情況

《條例》訂出下列豁免情況,令某些個人資料免受該條例所規管:

  • 因家居或消閒目的而持有的個人資料一概獲得豁免;
  • 某些與僱傭有關的個人資料可獲得豁免,例如:
    • 有關職工策劃的個人資料。
    • 若干評估程序(包括聘任及晉升遴選)所產生的個人資料,作出決定前及有關人士可就決定提出上訴的情況下,均可獲得豁免。
    • 正職以外有關個人評介的個人資料;如有關個人評介於1996年12月20日或以後作出,則豁免情況只有效至有關職位獲填補為止。
    • 現職僱員於1996年12月20日前提供的個人資料,如該資料屬當事人不得查閱的資料,可獲豁免(此豁免情況於2002年8月3日失效)。
  • 如讓資料當事人查閱或使用個人資料,可能損害公眾或社會利益,例如保安、防衞及國際關係、防止或偵查罪案、評稅或收稅、新聞活動、法律專業保密權,以及為資料當事人健康着想,則有關情況可以列為豁免情況。

 

實務

平機會備有以下資料,以確保能符合《條例》的規定:

  • 兩本《條例》第27條所規定的紀錄簿:該等紀錄簿須鎖存於平機會辦事處人事組。
    • 一本載有關於平機會就反歧視法例作出查詢和投訴記錄內的個人資料而拒絕依從查閱/或改正資料
    • 一本載有關於平機會就所有其他記錄內的個人資料而拒絕依從查閱/或改正資料
  • 內部執行程序:即有關處理市民就反歧視法例作出的查詢和投訴的內部執行程序,當中包括如何遵守《條例》的程序和處理所有其他方面的個人資料的內部指引。
  • 查閱資料要求表格:用以確定及查閱平機會辦事處所持有關於查閱資料要求者的個人資料。(下載表格)

 

費用

平機會辦事處會就每宗查閱資料要求收取的費用如下(請參閱《條例》第28(2)條):

(i) 每頁文件記錄2.5港元1;或

(ii) 簡單製備光碟/唯讀光碟/數碼光碟/影音記錄,收費55港元2;或

(iii) 若錄音記錄涉及編輯工作,例如須刪除與第三方有關的個人資料 ,每分鐘收費7港元3;或

(iv) 製備需要複雜編輯工作的光碟/唯讀光碟/數碼光碟/影音記錄,會按最低報價收取不定額費用4;或

(v) 按照由錄音記錄轉換為文字版的實際金額而定的費用,以下列兩者中較低者為準:

(a) 由平機會合適職員轉換成文字的直接及所需費用;或

(b) 由平機會聘用的服務提供者收取的最低報價5

除非及直至平機會為依從要求所徵收的費用已獲繳付,否則平機會可拒絕查閱資料要求(請參閱《條例》第28(5)條)。

按此參閱付款方法

平機會在《條例》第20條指定的情況下可拒絕依從查閱資料的要求。

 


1就文件記錄而言,平機會的處理工作包括但不限於尋找、審核、分揀及刪除資料,以及複印文件。

2若查閱資料要求涉及處理文件記錄,並把記錄轉換為以數碼形式儲存的檔案/記錄,例如唯讀光碟,處理費用會包括處理文件記錄及製備數碼形式的資料的費用。

3若錄音記錄需以數碼形式儲存,會同時收取製備指明數碼形式的費用,即如上文(ii)所述

4若涉及更複雜的編輯工作,例如須刪除不屬資料當事人的個人資料,而該工作須外判予服務提供者處理,處理費用會根據平機會就其聘用的服務提供者將進行的工作所取得的最低報價而定。

5若文字版需以數碼形式儲存,會同時收取製備指明數碼形式的費用,即如上文(ii)所述。


(此為中文譯本,相關內容以英文文本為準。)

2020年11月修訂

頁頂